Empty configuration -- no spans

Support forum for the ViciBox ISO Server Install and ISO LiveCD Demo

Moderators: enjay, williamconley, Staydog, mflorell, MJCoate, mcargile, Kumba

Empty configuration -- no spans

Postby ravi8vg » Tue Jul 17, 2018 12:43 am

dahdi_genconf
Empty configuration -- no spans
Empty configuration -- no spans
Empty configuration -- no spans
==============================
lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Device 3ec2 (rev 07)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Device 3e92
00:14.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation Device a36d (rev 10)
00:14.2 RAM memory: Intel Corporation Device a36f (rev 10)
00:16.0 Communication controller: Intel Corporation Device a360 (rev 10)
00:17.0 SATA controller: Intel Corporation Device a352 (rev 10)
00:1b.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Device a32c (rev f0)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Device a33c (rev f0)
00:1c.6 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Device a33e (rev f0)
00:1d.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Device a330 (rev f0)
00:1d.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Device a332 (rev f0)
00:1d.3 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Device a333 (rev f0)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation Device a308 (rev 10)
00:1f.3 Audio device: Intel Corporation Device a348 (rev 10)
00:1f.4 SMBus: Intel Corporation Device a323 (rev 10)
00:1f.5 Serial bus controller [0c80]: Intel Corporation Device a324 (rev 10)
03:00.0 PCI bridge: Texas Instruments XIO2001 PCI Express-to-PCI Bridge
04:00.0 Ethernet controller: National Semiconductor Corporation DP83815 (MacPhyter) Ethernet Controller
06:00.0 PCI bridge: ASMedia Technology Inc. ASM1083/1085 PCIe to PCI Bridge (rev 04)
08:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 15)
=====================================================================================================
dahdi_cfg -vvv
DAHDI Tools Version - 2.11.1

DAHDI Version: 2.11.1
Echo Canceller(s):
Configuration
======================


Channel map:


0 channels to configure.
==========================================
Installation Method
Vicibox 8 Live OS installation
VERSION: 2.14-632a
BUILD: 170930-0853
Asterisk 11.25.1-vici
=======================
ravi8vg
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed May 09, 2018 6:12 am

Re: Empty configuration -- no spans

Postby williamconley » Tue Jul 17, 2018 7:07 pm

1) You listed your Vicidial version with build. Very good. But you did not post your Installation Method with Version. "8" is not the full version. 8.X.X ...?

2) While we thank you for the information that there are no spans, you have not suggested a reason why this would be a bad thing. Would it be possible that you are attempting to install some sort of audio card? If so, sharing that information would be Most Useful.

Just Sayin' ... 8-)
Vicidial Installation and Repair, plus Hosting and Colocation
SugarCRM integration - Customization and Add-ons - We Bring It All Together.
http://www.PoundTeam.com # 352-269-0000 # +44 (203) 769-2294 # +506 4001-8914
williamconley
 
Posts: 17566
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 4:17 pm
Location: Davenport, FL (By Disney!)

Re: Empty configuration -- no spans

Postby ravi8vg » Mon Jul 23, 2018 8:34 am

I have done with Live vicidial OS 8.0.1 with kernal version, Linux vicibox8 4.4.87-25-default.
The reason is as mentioned below.
Am using caudalfin PRI card "https://www.caudalfin.com/"
I also come across with strange thing that For these 4 port PRI Card I need use Dahdi "dahdi-linux-complete-2.10.2+2.10.2" as updated in their website "https://docs.wixstatic.com/ugd/5df04c_7efc99c3cf044f06a8a95480755affa0.pdf" For these I need to install linux-header which I have managed to do in yast Software Management but the same is not reflecting when I type uname -r "4.4.87-25-default" Please refer the link for screen capture. I can succeed only if I able to install linux header with 4.4.138-59.1 to over come these issue. Your help is highly appreciated. Thanks in advance
[img]http://labs.firsthive.com/vicidialtestimg/IMG-20180717-WA0006.jpg
[img]http://labs.firsthive.com/vicidialtestimg/IMG-20180717-WA0006.jpg
http://labs.firsthive.com/vicidialtestimg/kernal-header.png
http://labs.firsthive.com/vicidialtestimg/linux-header.png


Apologies for the delay in response.
ravi8vg
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed May 09, 2018 6:12 am

Re: Empty configuration -- no spans

Postby williamconley » Mon Jul 23, 2018 1:09 pm

Was this card in the server during the installation of Vicibox 8.0.1? If not: Start over. Reinstall ViciBOX with that card physically installed in the server before you begin. Tends to be automated if the card is in any way standard.

If the card was installed before you began, you're dealing with specific hardware designed to work in Asterisk. Asterisk is a much larger community that Vicidial, and the hardware manufacturer MUST have both instructions and support to get this card to work with Asterisk. After it loads into asterisk, we can be more helpful. But I don't have personal experience with this particular card so I'm not likely to be much use. I'd be running every utility available until I got something that at least acknowledged the existence of the device and working from there.
Vicidial Installation and Repair, plus Hosting and Colocation
SugarCRM integration - Customization and Add-ons - We Bring It All Together.
http://www.PoundTeam.com # 352-269-0000 # +44 (203) 769-2294 # +506 4001-8914
williamconley
 
Posts: 17566
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 4:17 pm
Location: Davenport, FL (By Disney!)

Re: Empty configuration -- no spans

Postby ravi8vg » Mon Jul 23, 2018 8:02 pm

Thanks for your reply.
But am using the manufacturer hardware with two port PRI card on vicidial VERSION: 2.10-448a With BUILD: 140706-0927. Asterisk version 1.8.The same is working without any issues from last two years.

I have plugged in the hardware before starting the installation.

I have identified the root cause, but am unable to fix the same. "Linux-header" is the culprit I have installed but the same is not reflecting in cli where as it's installed in "yast"

I think you are using VM on top of open suse is base OS and VM is vicibox 8.0.1
ravi8vg
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed May 09, 2018 6:12 am

Re: Empty configuration -- no spans

Postby williamconley » Mon Jul 23, 2018 8:41 pm

ravi8vg wrote:VM on top of open suse is base OS and VM is vicibox 8.0.1


Um ... are you trying to use a PCI card in a virtual machine instead of directly in a hardware based server?

That being said: If you have a previous version running that works with this hardware, try installing the previous version again in the new server. Asterisk has ... changed a lot since then, but the original install CDs still work if you avoid any attempts at updating the OS. In fact, I'd recommend not even connecting to the internet until after the primary installation is completed if possible.
Vicidial Installation and Repair, plus Hosting and Colocation
SugarCRM integration - Customization and Add-ons - We Bring It All Together.
http://www.PoundTeam.com # 352-269-0000 # +44 (203) 769-2294 # +506 4001-8914
williamconley
 
Posts: 17566
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 4:17 pm
Location: Davenport, FL (By Disney!)

Re: Empty configuration -- no spans

Postby ravi8vg » Mon Jul 23, 2018 8:53 pm

Yes it's PCI express card. I tried with Asterisk 1.8 as well but the problem here is kernal header not the asterisk/PRI card
ravi8vg
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed May 09, 2018 6:12 am

Re: Empty configuration -- no spans

Postby williamconley » Mon Jul 23, 2018 9:21 pm

This is a technical support forum. I asked a multi-part technical question, and you answered "part" of it.

One More Time:

are you trying to use a PCI card in a virtual machine instead of directly in a hardware based server?

Answer:

it's PCI express card.

But Nothing about "in a Virtual Machine". Please respond to that portion. Kind of important.
Vicidial Installation and Repair, plus Hosting and Colocation
SugarCRM integration - Customization and Add-ons - We Bring It All Together.
http://www.PoundTeam.com # 352-269-0000 # +44 (203) 769-2294 # +506 4001-8914
williamconley
 
Posts: 17566
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 4:17 pm
Location: Davenport, FL (By Disney!)

Re: Empty configuration -- no spans

Postby ravi8vg » Mon Jul 23, 2018 10:09 pm

The conversation is heading in different direction.
First am not using virtual machine. I was just referring about the vicibox 8 build.
I have installed on Raw hardware based server with vicibox 8.0.1 live ios CD which is download from vicidial website.
ravi8vg
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed May 09, 2018 6:12 am

Re: Empty configuration -- no spans

Postby williamconley » Tue Jul 24, 2018 2:56 pm

ravi8vg wrote:The conversation is heading in different direction.
First am not using virtual machine. I was just referring about the vicibox 8 build.
I have installed on Raw hardware based server with vicibox 8.0.1 live ios CD which is download from vicidial website.

I'm not sure about a "different direction": You said "VM on top of open suse". Thus the quiz on Virtual Machines ...

Just for curiosity: What DID you mean by VM?

Most importantly: The manufacturer of the equipment in question, specifically designed to work with Asterisk, should have a support method/forum/site to allow asterisk to recognize the hardware.

Vicidial will use any channels Asterisk can activate. But not until asterisk brings it to life. We've all worked with PBX cards pretty extensively, but the sangoma / digium realm is fairly well documented. If you're outside that realm ... the experience level drops drastically. So it'll mean some experimentation. Unless the manufacturer chimes in and/or you can provide links to support topics for someone with PBX card experience to attempt to decipher for you.
Vicidial Installation and Repair, plus Hosting and Colocation
SugarCRM integration - Customization and Add-ons - We Bring It All Together.
http://www.PoundTeam.com # 352-269-0000 # +44 (203) 769-2294 # +506 4001-8914
williamconley
 
Posts: 17566
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 4:17 pm
Location: Davenport, FL (By Disney!)

Re: Empty configuration -- no spans

Postby ravi8vg » Tue Jul 24, 2018 11:00 pm

Thank you for your reply.

I was referring to vicidial built,

I have shared you the support link for hardware.
Why am not able to upgrade or install linux-header 4.4.138-59. If I get these my issue is resolved.
ravi8vg
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed May 09, 2018 6:12 am

Re: Empty configuration -- no spans

Postby williamconley » Wed Jul 25, 2018 12:18 am

ravi8vg wrote:Thank you for your reply.

I was referring to vicidial built,

I have shared you the support link for hardware.
Why am not able to upgrade or install linux-header 4.4.138-59. If I get these my issue is resolved.

"Vicidial/Vicibox" vs "VM" ... I'd suggest "Vici" or "Vbox" or something instead if you're going to shorten it. VM has a meaning you apparently didn't intend.

As for the headers: That question would be better suited to an OpenSuSE forum. What command did you issue to try to install those headers? What was the response from that command (I assume it was an error ...)? If you only used the yast installer, you should try it again directly at the command line to see if there are any errors. Forcing a reinstall has been useful in the past.

Are you sure that's the proper kernel version?

Installing the Linux Headers is a fairly common occurrance.
Vicidial Installation and Repair, plus Hosting and Colocation
SugarCRM integration - Customization and Add-ons - We Bring It All Together.
http://www.PoundTeam.com # 352-269-0000 # +44 (203) 769-2294 # +506 4001-8914
williamconley
 
Posts: 17566
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 4:17 pm
Location: Davenport, FL (By Disney!)


Return to ViciBox Server Install and Demo

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 9 guests