grub error; boot from .iso

Support forum for the ViciBox ISO Server Install and ISO LiveCD Demo

Moderators: enjay, williamconley, Staydog, mflorell, MJCoate, mcargile, Kumba

grub error; boot from .iso

Postby THUFIR » Wed Feb 04, 2015 8:28 pm

How do I boot from the .iso?

Currently I'm running Ubuntu on sda1.

my custom grub file:

Code: Select all
thufir@doge:~$
thufir@doge:~$ cat /etc/grub.d/40_custom
#!/bin/sh
exec tail -n +3 $0
# This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries.  Simply type the
# menu entries you want to add after this comment.  Be careful not to change
# the 'exec tail' line above.


menuentry “ViciBox6preload” {
set isofile=”/home/thufir/Downloads/Vicibox_v.6.0.x86_64-6.0.3.iso”
loopback loop (hd0,1)$isofile
    linux (loop)/boot/x86_64/loader/linux install=hd:$isofile
    initrd (loop)/boot/x86_64/loader/initrd
}
thufir@doge:~$



I googled, as best I could, the settings for OpenSuSE.


see also:


http://unix.stackexchange.com/questions/182966/
ViciBox Redux v.6.0.3-141118 from .iso | Single Server | No Digium/Sangoma Hardware | No Extra Software After Installation | AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1090T Processor | 8GiB RAM
THUFIR
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri May 02, 2014 10:46 pm

Re: grub error; boot from .iso

Postby DomeDan » Thu Feb 05, 2015 5:11 am

try grub-imageboot
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install grub-imageboot
sudo mkdir /boot/images
sudo cp Vicibox_v.6.0.x86_64-6.0.3.iso /boot/images
sudo update-grub

It displayed the splash-image (but I needed to write what kernel to load before though) it started to boot but failed, something about the MBR,
but it might work for you :)
Vicidial Partner. Region: Sweden/Norway.
Does Vicidial installation, configuration, customization, add-ons, CRM implementation, support, upgrading, network-related, pentesting etc. Remote and onsite assistance.
Email: domedan (at) gmail.com
DomeDan
 
Posts: 1226
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 9:17 am
Location: Sweden

Re: grub error; boot from .iso

Postby Kumba » Fri Feb 06, 2015 2:50 pm

You would normally burn the ISO to a CD/DVD or a USB drive and boot from that. I'm not sure what you are trying to do.
Kumba
 
Posts: 939
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 11:44 pm
Location: Florida

Re: grub error; boot from .iso

Postby THUFIR » Mon Feb 09, 2015 10:35 pm

It's possible to use GRUB to boot the ISO. I was thinking that there might be a problem with the DVD drive.
ViciBox Redux v.6.0.3-141118 from .iso | Single Server | No Digium/Sangoma Hardware | No Extra Software After Installation | AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1090T Processor | 8GiB RAM
THUFIR
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri May 02, 2014 10:46 pm


Return to ViciBox Server Install and Demo

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 50 guests